2023-2024 Catalog and Student Handbook


Department of Communication

Website: http://www.marietta.edu/communication-department

Chair: Lori Smith (lori.smith@marietta.edu)

Administrative Assistant: Joyce Pennington

The Department of Communication aims to be the most dynamic, innovative, and inclusive collegiate learning environment, engaging diverse students and communities in the creation and practice of effective communication that changes the world.

The mission of the Communication Department is to cultivate knowledge and skills for effective and ethical communication.

The faculty is committed to promoting knowledge, criticism, and practical application of communication in face-to-face and mediated contexts. The department strives to educate students to be critical observers of social problems, to become professional practitioners in the communication professions, to participate effectively in public life as citizens, and to become involved in culturally diverse personal and professional relationships in their communities.

The department offers three undergraduate majors: Journalism/ Broadcasting, Communication Studies, and Strategic Communication with Ad/PR track or Organizational Communication/ PR track; as well as four minors: Journalism/Broadcasting, Communication Studies, Health Communication, and Strategic Communication: Ad/PR or Organizational Communication/PR.

The department also offers three certificates: Health Communication, Organizational Development, and Strategic Communication.