2023-2024 Catalog and Student Handbook


Department of Theatre

Website: http://www.marietta.edu/theatre-department

Chair: Melissa Hill Grande (grandem@marietta.edu)

Administrative Assistant: Myra Reich (reichm@marietta.edu)

The Department of Theatre offers programs designed to meet the varied needs of students, whether they are planning to pursue a career in an entertainment industry or seeking to study theatre as part of a broader liberal arts education.

As part of the department’s close-knit community, students explore topics from acting to dance to directing and from stage combat to projection design, depending on their major and interests. Beginning their freshman year, they apply their growing skills to productions to create dynamic theatre experiences.

The Department of Theatre offers five programs: Bachelor of Fine Arts in Theatre, Bachelor of Arts in Musical Theatre, Bachelor of Arts in Theatre, Theatre Minor, and Dance Minor. The selective-admission BFA Theatre program includes three tracks: Directing (a wider view of theatre for directors, playwrights, stage managers, and generalists), Design and Technology (with emphases in Scenic, Costume, Lighting, Sound, or Digital Media and Projection), and Performance. The selective-admission BA Musical Theatre program provides professional training for the aspiring musical theatre performer within a liberal arts framework. The open-admission BA Theatre program is designed for double majors, and the flexible open-admission Theatre Minors, including focused minors in Acting, Design and Technology, and Theatre History and Dramatic Literature, allow students majoring in other areas to explore the various theatre arts. The Dance Minor offers students majoring in any discipline an opportunity to explore storytelling through dance, a dynamic artistic field that supports physical and emotional well-being. Students can engage in the Dance Minor whether they are new to dance or have been dancing for many years.